New Beginnings For a New Year

New Year has never been of significance to me. And as for New Year’s Resolutions – forget it!

Life has a habit of getting in the way of those pesky things….& let’s not forget will power or lack of it especially when you’re tired & just plain depressed with the road you are travelling on. Which happens at times to all of us but life is a journey, difficult & challenging & I wouldn’t want it any other way.

So I dump the resolutions, I go with goals. I love goals. I set them down on paper give myself minimum & maximum deadlines & pin them to my study wall. Every so often I revisit my goals & see how I’m going….to be honest most of the time, I’m behind. But hey that’s what happens when you other responsibilities apart from yourself.

Let’s face it – the most important things in a person’s life should be their loved ones. Then I guess its putting bread on the table.

But I also believe, its important to be true to yourself  & to somehow grab some time to do those activities that fulfill you the most & help you to grow as a person. Mine is my creativity & being in the outdoors. Bushwalking, kayaking, swimming, just plain sitting on the sand & listening to the waves crash onto the shore – all perfect. And all these activities help spark my creativity & bring (I hope!) freshness & usually new directions to my writing.

Now my goals for 2011 are done & I hope to achieve most of them, but even if I don’t the journey is still a hell of a lot of fun.

A safe, healthy & productive 2011 to all.

About S E GILCHRIST

Writer of Romance and Adventure
This entry was posted in Blog Archive. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Beginnings For a New Year

  1. It’s about time the world can get a taste of your world and your wonderful way with words. I love this blog already.

  2. Suzanne says:

    I thought I’d left a reply here. Yes, it is about time Suzanne. lol.. 🙂

    Glad to finally see you’ve made it.

    Suz 🙂

  3. Mon Wood says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere, chicky babe! Look forward to reading all about what you’re up to.

    Hugs,
    Mon

  4. maryde says:

    I agree with you on the too many resolutions made, just to be broken. lol
    Maybe your way is better. Set the goals and aim for them. I like your way better Suzanne.
    🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

